Requirements

Click the links shown above to review the requirements for becoming a bus driver in Bond, Fayette, and Effingham Counties

IMPORTANT NOTICE!

Effective July 1, 2005, ALL School Bus Drivers are Required to Obtain an "S" endorsement at a Driver's License facility.  The cost of the endorsement is $6.00.  Retesting is not required at this time.

Regional Office Responsibilities

The Regional Office of Education is responsible for conducting and keeping records of the initial training that is required for all new school bus drivers prior to getting a bus permit, and the annual refresher workshop that is required in the 12 month period prior to renewing their school bus permit.

 

Experienced drivers must take a two hour refresher course annually, and all new drivers must take an eight hour course in school bus driver safety and first aid, as prescribed by the Illinois State Board of Education and administered by the ROE.

 

Each year the Regional Offices train over 20,000 bus drivers.

 

The Regional Office of Education is responsible for the appointment of instructors who conduct the required training.

 

The Secretary of State's Office is responsible for the issuance of school bus driver permits, and the administration of behind-the-wheel testing.

 

Each school district is required by law to have its buses inspected twice annually. These inspections take place before school starts and again in December. In addition, there are daily inspections by the driver and monthly inspections by the districts or outside contractors.

 

 

Download training requirements in a single printable document

 

Download Training Schedule

 

Notice:

All drivers must

pre-register prior to

class dates by calling the Regional Office of Education at 618-283-5011

 

NEW (June 30, 2008):
23 Illinois Admin Section 1.515(a)(3) requires a valid, current first aid card for school bus driver instructors. See memo below:
First Aid Card: Instructors

Made with Namu6